生存策略與社會復雜性的發展

IMG_20190627_080514.jpg
DSC08661.JPG

生存策略是政治經濟體系的本質,可以預測其他行為形式,例如人口規模,勞動分工和社會結構。在人類社會中,食品的生產,分配和消費方式各不相同,因此,我們通過研究食品加工製品上的殘留物以及不同文化在不同時間和跨空間的工具上的使用磨損方式來關注本研究主題。 我們正在進行的項目還調查了華北新石器時代晚期和青銅時代早期的農業活動,以闡明與城市革命和國家形成有關的生存策略和手工藝品專業化。

在中國,最早的酒精書面記錄出現在大約3000年前的甲骨銘文中。然而,考古調查已將酒精生產的日期推遲了幾千年。大約在9000-8000年前,在專用陶器中生產發酵飲料似乎是向農業過渡的重要組成部分。從那時起,酒在宴會上是必不可少的,在整個史前和歷史上為社會政治進程做出了貢獻。我們的研究徹底改變了史前黃河流域對酒精生產和消費的認識。

當前項目

青銅時代

李力

王嘉靜

黃河下游地區

王門項目

P1020449.JPG

與河南大學合作,從河南望門的尚商行早期站點對石材和貝殼工具進行了功能分析。

新石器時代晚期

何亞輝

劉立

陝西省

世茂食品

DSC06039.JPG

與新石器時代黃土高原後期世茂遺址的陶器組合和石材工具揭示了植物性食品的加工和消費, 與陝西省考古研究所合作

新石器時代

李力

王嘉靜

四川高地

四川項目

DSC06983-2.jpg

在中國西北四川高地傳播仰韶文化和飲酒傳統(劉力和王嘉靜,與成都市考古研究所和四川省考古研究所合作)

趙浩

陝西省

上林琴帝花園裡的大衛鹿

IMG_6754.JPG

我們研究了秦皇家花園中出土的大衛鹿的大量骨骸,如今在中國祇有3000頭這種鹿被人類保管。

刊物

Liu L.,Wang,J.,Levin,MJ,2017。用於考古研究的實驗性採石工具的磨損和殘留分析。考古科學雜誌:報告14,439-453。

Liu,L.,Wang,J.,Rosenberg,D.,Zhao,H.,Lengyel,G.,Nadel,D.,2019年。對關於在Raqefet洞穴中生產13,000年前的Natufian啤酒的考古重建的評論的回應,以色列。考古科學雜誌:報告28,101914。

Wang,J.,Liu,L.,Georgescu,A.,Le,VV,Ota,MH,Tang,S.,Vanderbilt,M.,2017。通過澱粉分析鑑定古老啤酒釀造:一種方法學。考古科學雜誌:第15號報告,第150-160頁。

Subsistence strategies and development of social complexity

IMG_20190627_080514.jpg
DSC08661.JPG

Subsistence strategies are the essence of a political-economic system, and may predict other forms of behavior, such as population size, division of labor, and social structure. The ways to produce, distribute and consume foodstuffs vary among human societies, thus we focus on this research topic by studying residues on food processing artifacts and use-wear patterns on tools from different cultures through time and cross space. Our on-going projects also investigate agricultural activities in the late Neolithic and early Bronze Age of north China, in order to shed light on subsistence strategies and craft specialization related to the urban revolution and state formation.

In China, the earliest written record of alcohol appeared in oracle-bone inscriptions around 3000 years ago. Archaeological investigations, however, have pushed back the date of alcohol production several millennia. Around 9000-8000 years ago, the production of fermented beverages in specialized pottery vessels appeared as a significant component in the transition to agriculture. Since then, alcohol has been essential in ritual feasting, contributing to sociopolitical processes throughout prehistory and history. Our research has revolutionized the understanding of alcohol production and consumption in the prehistoric Yellow River valley.

Current Projects

Bronze Age

Li LIu

 Jiajing Wang

Lower Yellow River Region

Wangmen Project

Functional analysis of stone and shell tools from an early Shang site in Wangmen, Henan, collaborating with Henan University.

Late Neolithic

Yahui He

Li Liu

 Shaanxi

Shimao Foodways

Plant-based food processing and consumption revealed by pottery assemblage and stone tools at the Shimao site in Late Neolithic Loess Plateau, collaborating with Shannxi Institute of Archaeology

Neolithic

Li LIu

 Jiajing Wang

Sichuan Highlands

Sichuan Project

Dispersal of the Yangshao culture and the drinking ritual tradition in NW Sichuan highlands, China (Li Liu and Jiajing Wang, collaborating with Chengdu City Institute of Archaeology and Sichuan Provincial Institute of Archaeology)

Qin

Hao Zhao

 Shaanxi

David's Deer in Qin Royal Garden at Shanglin

We study the large quantity of bone remains from David’s deer excavated in the Qin royal garden, only 3000 individuals of this deer are living under human custody in China today.

Publications

Liu, L., Wang, J., Levin, M.J., 2017. Usewear and residue analyses of experimental harvesting stone tools for archaeological research. Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports 14, 439-453.

 

Liu, L., Wang, J., Rosenberg, D., Zhao, H., Lengyel, G., Nadel, D., 2019. Response to comments on archaeological reconstruction of 13,000-y old Natufian beer making at Raqefet Cave, Israel. Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports 28, 101914.

 

Wang, J., Liu, L., Georgescu, A., Le, V.V., Ota, M.H., Tang, S., Vanderbilt, M., 2017. Identifying ancient beer brewing through starch analysis: A methodology. Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports 15, 150-160.

About Us

We are a team of archaeologists discovering ancient food cultures around the world.

Drop By

488 Escondido Mall

Building 500

Stanford, CA 94305