實驗考古學

DSC03410.JPG
Screen Shot 2020-08-19 at 5.45.35 PM.png

實驗考古學方法以質疑的方式保留了材料,試圖了解古代人在做什麼,他們如何做以及為什麼這樣做。為了更好地了解過去食品加工和發酵中的人類行為,我們在教學課程和研究計劃中進行了一系列實驗研究和實驗室分析。研究的過程包括:i)用石材切割工具收穫野生穀物,ii)用磨碎的石頭研磨塊莖,堅果和種子,iii)用加熱的石頭煮沸煮橡子粉(石頭煮沸方法),iv)用各種啤酒釀造啤酒穀物。所採用的考古方法包括對使用痕跡和各種人工製品上的微殘留物(澱粉,植石,纖維,黴菌,酵母菌等)進行分析。結果幫助我們生成了一個比較數據庫,用於研究古代工具和陶瓷器皿的功能。我們正在進行的實驗項目包括使用各種Qu發酵劑進行發酵。

Screen Shot 2020-08-19 at 2.34.58 PM.png

在中國,最早的酒精書面記錄出現在大約3000年前的甲骨銘文中。然而,考古調查已將酒精生產的日期推遲了幾千年。大約在9000-8000年前,在專用陶器中生產發酵飲料似乎是向農業過渡的重要組成部分。從那時起,酒在宴會上是必不可少的,在整個史前和歷史上為社會政治進程做出了貢獻。我們的研究徹底改變了史前黃河流域對酒精生產和消費的認識。

當前項目

劉立

河南

發酵方法項目

DSC00507.JPG

與河南大學,陝西省考古研究所合作 在華北地區進行傳統的基於小米酒的酒精發酵方法的家庭生產

陳然

斯坦福大學

可可

發酵

P1040714.JPG

可可發酵:我們在40℃下對果肉和香蕉葉進行了可可種子發酵實驗,以了解可可發酵過程中澱粉顆粒的形成。

何亞輝

斯坦福大學

渾酒食譜

image001.jpg

相對於根據Shimao民族志研究的Hunjiu配方,我們製作了小米酒精。

何亞輝

李靜波

斯坦福大學

努魯克食譜

thumbnail_WechatIMG5.jpg

我們使用現代發酵劑Nuruk(韓語qu)製作了小米酒精。

陳然

斯坦福大學

微刀片使用項目

IMG_20190429_144811.jpg

我們使用微刀片複製品執行不同的任務,以便提供低功率和高功率使用磨損參考。

陳然

斯坦福大學

紅色酒精食譜

IMG_20181117_084340.jpg

我們按照人們在浙江當地村莊使用的傳統方法製作了紅曲酒

刊物

Liu L.,Wang,J.,Levin,MJ,2017。用於考古研究的實驗性採石工具的磨損和殘留分析。考古科學雜誌:報告14,439-453。

Liu,L.,Wang,J.,Rosenberg,D.,Zhao,H.,Lengyel,G.,Nadel,D.,2019年。對關於在Raqefet洞穴中生產13,000年前的Natufian啤酒的考古重建的評論的回應,以色列。考古科學雜誌:報告28,101914。

Wang,J.,Liu,L.,Georgescu,A.,Le,VV,Ota,MH,Tang,S.,Vanderbilt,M.,2017。通過澱粉分析鑑定古老啤酒釀造:一種方法學。考古科學雜誌:第15號報告,第150-160頁。

Experimental Archaeology

DSC03410.JPG
Screen Shot 2020-08-19 at 5.45.35 PM.png

Experimental archaeology approaches material remains in a questioning way, attempting to understand what ancient people were doing, how they were doing it, and why they were doing it. In order to better understand human behavior in food processing and fermentation in the past, we have conducted a series of experimental study and laboratory analyses as part of our teaching curriculum and research program. The processes studied include: i) harvesting wild cereals with stone cutting tools, ii) grinding tubers, nuts and seeds with ground stones, iii) cooking acorn meals by boiling with heated stones (stone boiling method), and iv) brewing beer with various cereals. The archaeological methods employed include analyses of use-wear traces and various microremains (starch, phytoliths, fibers, molds, yeasts, etc.) on artifacts. The results have helped us to generate a comparative database for investigating the function of ancient tools and ceramic vessels. Our on-going experimental projects include fermentation with various qu starters.

Screen Shot 2020-08-19 at 2.34.58 PM.png

In China, the earliest written record of alcohol appeared in oracle-bone inscriptions around 3000 years ago. Archaeological investigations, however, have pushed back the date of alcohol production several millennia. Around 9000-8000 years ago, the production of fermented beverages in specialized pottery vessels appeared as a significant component in the transition to agriculture. Since then, alcohol has been essential in ritual feasting, contributing to sociopolitical processes throughout prehistory and history. Our research has revolutionized the understanding of alcohol production and consumption in the prehistoric Yellow River valley.

Current Projects

Li Liu

Henan

Fermentation Methods Project

Household production of traditional millet-based alcohol fermentation methods in north China, collaborating with Henan University, Shaanxi Provincial Institute of Archaeology

Ran Chen

Stanford 

Cacao

Fermentation

Cacao fermentation: we did an experiment of cacao seed fermentation with their pulps and banana leaves under 40 ℃, to understand the formation of starch granules in cacao fermentation processes.

Yahui He

Stanford 

Hunjiu Recipe

​We made millet alcohol in comparison to the Hunjiu recipe based on the Shimao ethnographic study.

Yahui He

Jingbo Li

Stanford 

Nuruk Recipe

We made millet alcohol by using modern starter Nuruk (Korean qu).

Ran Chen

Stanford 

Microblade use-wear Project

We used microblade replicas to do different tasks in order to provide both low- and high-power use-wear references.

Ran Chen

Stanford 

Red Alcohol Recipe

We made red qu alcohol following the traditional method people use in local villages in Zhejiang

Publications

Liu, L., Wang, J., Levin, M.J., 2017. Usewear and residue analyses of experimental harvesting stone tools for archaeological research. Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports 14, 439-453.

 

Liu, L., Wang, J., Rosenberg, D., Zhao, H., Lengyel, G., Nadel, D., 2019. Response to comments on archaeological reconstruction of 13,000-y old Natufian beer making at Raqefet Cave, Israel. Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports 28, 101914.

 

Wang, J., Liu, L., Georgescu, A., Le, V.V., Ota, M.H., Tang, S., Vanderbilt, M., 2017. Identifying ancient beer brewing through starch analysis: A methodology. Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports 15, 150-160.

About Us

We are a team of archaeologists discovering ancient food cultures around the world.

Drop By

488 Escondido Mall

Building 500

Stanford, CA 94305