古代世界對酒精的追求

Xipo2.jpg

在中國,最早的酒精書面記錄出現在大約3000年前的甲骨銘文中。然而,考古調查已將酒精生產的日期推遲了幾千年。大約在9000-8000年前,在專用陶器中生產發酵飲料似乎是向農業過渡的重要組成部分。從那時起,酒在宴會上是必不可少的,在整個史前和歷史上為社會政治進程做出了貢獻。我們的研究徹底改變了史前黃河流域對酒精生產和消費的認識。

Beer1.jpg

發酵和酒精飲料在全球過去的農業和城市社會中的宴會和社交活動中起著關鍵作用,但是複雜的相關技術的起源仍然難以捉摸。長期以來人們一直認為,對啤酒的渴求可能是穀物馴化背後的刺激因素,這導致了人類歷史上重大的社會技術變革。但是這個假設引起了極大的爭議。最近,我們的研究小組與以色列考古學家合作,在這一問題上取得了重要突破。我們在以色列納圖夫洞穴遺址拉格夫特發現了世界上最古老的啤酒釀造考古證據,可追溯到13,700-11,700 cal。 BP。啤酒由野生小麥或大麥以及其他草籽和塊莖製成。這些創新先於近千年來出現了馴化穀物。這一發現支持以下假設:在某些地區,啤酒可能是種植穀物的潛在動機。

在中國,最早的酒精書面記錄出現在大約3000年前的甲骨銘文中。然而,考古調查已將酒精生產的日期推遲了幾千年。大約在9000-8000年前,在專用陶器中生產發酵飲料似乎是向農業過渡的重要組成部分。從那時起,酒在宴會上是必不可少的,在整個史前和歷史上為社會政治進程做出了貢獻。我們的研究徹底改變了史前黃河流域對酒精生產和消費的認識。

DSC08400_edited.jpg

我們的研究方法包括微化石和與陶瓷有關的化學殘留分析
酒精釀造,酒精製造的實驗研究以及民族志的民族志研究
不同地區的發酵方法。通過應用這些方法,我們發現沒有
不僅是發酵飲料的主要成分,而且還涉及各種釀造技術
–使用發芽穀物和使用發霉的穀物作為糖化劑。

當前項目

我們正在將研究範圍擴展到南部和西部地區,將時間段擴展到中國的王朝時代。我們還與世界其他地區的考古學家合作,研究中國境外的古代酒精遺跡。我們旨在加深對酒精的多方面功能及其在各種社會活動中的作用的理解,包括儀式盛宴,醫學實踐,貿易,文化互動和人口遷移。

新石器時代晚期

亞輝

陝西省

世茂酒業

IMG_20190628_155638.jpg

世茂遺址的陶器組合揭示了酒精和其他植物性食品。與陝西省考古研究所合作。

新石器時代晚期

趙亞楠

甘肅

大地灣項目

DSC07431.JPG

與甘肅省考古研究所合作,對甘肅大地灣遺址的陶瓷微化石殘留物進行了分析,重點是釀酒的證據。

新石器時代

李力

王嘉靜

黃河下游地區

黃河谷項目

DSC06340.JPG

與中國社會科學院考古研究所合作,在中國黃河下游地區進行新石器時代的酒精和儀式盛宴。

青銅時代

李靜波

陝西省

周源項目

Screen Shot 2020-10-24 at 12.16.43 AM.pn

中國西周周元遺址的青銅時代酒和飲食。與陝西省考古研究所合作。

膽石

李力

莫里斯·萊文

以色列

酒在聖地

DSC07815-2.jpg

與以色列海法大學合作,來自以色列的石器聖地的陶瓷過濾器中的酒精。

青銅時代

劉立

何亞輝

河南

二里頭項目

DSC04328.JPG

與中國社會科學院考古研究所合作,分析了二里頭遺址貴族陵墓中出土的飲水容器中的殘留物。

新石器時代晚期

馮鎖飛

劉立

王嘉靜

河南

西坡項目

thumbnail_image002.jpg

我們與中國科學院考古研究所,河南省鄭州文物考古研究所合作,研究了從西坡遺址發掘出的器皿的微植物和真菌殘留。

古埃及

王嘉靜

Hierakpnplis

埃及盆項目

WechatIMG48.jpeg

我們目前正在對Hierakonpolis的陶器進行殘留分析,Hierakonpolis是了解古代埃及社會基礎的最重要的考古遺址之一。

https://www.hierakonpolis-online.org

經典瑪雅人

陳然

何亞輝

李力

洪都拉斯

科潘項目

86BFFEC5-823D-4D88-8B08-B6A10D2CF702_1_1

洪都拉斯科潘區的美食和美食盛宴,

考古研究所,中國社科院的合作

青銅時代

李靜波

河南

銀旭項目

DSC02143.JPG

商代殷墟遺址的酒精生產和消費以及中國早期的青銅時代飲酒。與中國社會科學院考古研究所合作。

刊物

Liu,L.,2017年。棗州陶起,株洲市,於舊會徽扶貧開發院(早期陶器,粥和社會復雜性的發展)。中原文武2,24-34。

Liu L.,Li,Y.,Hou J.,2020年。在中國新石器時代的仰韶文化中,用麥芽穀物和曲曲製作啤酒。考古科學學報:報告29,102134。

Liu L.,Wang J.,Chen X.,Li Y Y,2019a。黃河中游新石器時代路九陶湖分溪(黃河中游地區新石器時代陶器的分析)。中原文武6號,55-61。

Liu L.,Wang,J.,Chen X.,Li,Y.,Zhao,H.,2018年a。仰韶文化大佛子餘延蔭傳統:河南Yan氏會徽一芝F1二疊賀桃旗參六物西河南)。中原文武1號,32-43。

Liu,L.,Wang,J.,Levin,MJ,Sinnott-Armstrong,N.,Zhao,H.,Zhao,Y.,Shao,J.,Di,N.,Zhang,T.,2019b。新石器時代早期中國專業陶器和多種酒精發酵技術的起源。美國國家科學院院刊116,12767-12774。

Liu L.,Wang,J.,Liu H.,2020年b。中國北方新石器時代的仰韶文化中第一個安瓿的釀造功能。人類學與考古科學學報12,118。

Liu L.,Wang,J.,Zhao,H.,Shao,J.,Di,N.,Feng,S.,2018b。陝西藍田新街一號仰韶文化有限公司萬象桃溪殘流屋陝西:藍棗新城的仰韶文化遺址對陶器的殘留分析:啤酒釀造的新證據。農冶烤股1,7-15。

Liu L.,Wang,J.,Zhao Y.,Yang L.,2017年。仰韶文化出版社:吉密陽關寨益智陶道貢能(仰韶文化中的啤酒:在陽關寨遺址對陶器的功能進行解碼) 。 Nongye Kaogu 6,26-32。

Wang,J.,Liu,L.,Ball,T.,Yu,L.,Li,Y.,Xing,F.,2016年。揭示了在中國有5,000年曆史的啤酒配方。美國國家科學院院刊113,6444-6448。

The Quest for Alcohol in Ancient World

Xipo2.jpg

In China, the earliest written record of alcohol appeared in oracle-bone inscriptions around 3000 years ago. Archaeological investigations, however, have pushed back the date of alcohol production several millennia. Around 9000-8000 years ago, the production of fermented beverages in specialized pottery vessels appeared as a significant component in the transition to agriculture. Since then, alcohol has been essential in ritual feasting, contributing to sociopolitical processes throughout prehistory and history. Our research has revolutionized the understanding of alcohol production and consumption in the prehistoric Yellow River valley.

Beer1.jpg

Fermented and alcoholic beverages played a pivotal role in feastings and social events in past agricultural and urban societies across the globe, but the origins of the sophisticated relevant technologies remain elusive. It has long been speculated that the thirst for beer may have been the stimulus behind cereal domestication, which led to a major social-technological change in human history; but this hypothesis has been highly controversial. Recently, our research team, collaborating with Israeli archaeologists, has made an important breakthrough on this subject. We have found the world's oldest archaeological evidence of beer brewing at Raqefet, a Natufian cave site in Israel, dating to 13,700-11,700 cal. BP. The beer was made of wild wheat or barley, together with other grass seeds and tubers. These innovations predated the appearance of domesticated cereals by millennia in the Near East. This discovery supports the hypothesis that in some regions, beer may have been an underlying motivation to cultivate cereals.

In China, the earliest written record of alcohol appeared in oracle-bone inscriptions around 3000 years ago. Archaeological investigations, however, have pushed back the date of alcohol production several millennia. Around 9000-8000 years ago, the production of fermented beverages in specialized pottery vessels appeared as a significant component in the transition to agriculture. Since then, alcohol has been essential in ritual feasting, contributing to sociopolitical processes throughout prehistory and history. Our research has revolutionized the understanding of alcohol production and consumption in the prehistoric Yellow River valley.

DSC08400_edited.jpg

Our research methods include microfossil and chemical residue analyses of pottery related to
alcohol brewing, experimental studies of alcohol making, and ethnographic research of
fermentation methods in different regions. By applying these methods, we have identified not
only the main ingredients of fermented beverages, but also various brewing techniques involved
– use of sprouted cereals and use of qu moldy grains as saccharification agents.

Current Projects

We are expanding the scope of our research to the southern and western regions, extending the time period to the dynastic eras in China. We are also collaborating with archaeologists in other parts of world to study ancient alcohol remains outside of China. We aim to advance our understanding about the multi-faceted functionality of alcohol and its roles in diverse social activities, including ritual feasting, medicinal practices, trade, cultural interactions, and population migrations.

​Late Neolithic

Yahui He

Shaanxi

Alcohol at Shimao

Alcohol and other plant-based food revealed by pottery assemblage at the Shimao site. In collaboration with Shaanxi Provincial Insitute of Archaeology.

​Late Neolithic

Yanan Zhao

Gansu

Dadiwan Project

Microfossil residue analysis of pottery from Dadiwan Site, Gansu, focusing on the evidence of alcohol making, collaborating with Gansu Institute of Archaeology.

Neolithic

Li LIu

 Jiajing Wang

Lower Yellow River Region

Yellow River  Valley Project

Neolithic alcohol and ritual feasting in the lower Yellow River region, China, collaborating with Institute of Archaeology, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences.

Bronze Age

Jingbo Li

Shaanxi

Zhouyuan Project

Bronze Age alcohol and diet at the Zhouyuan Site of Western Zhou Dynasty in China. In collaboration with Shaanxi Provincial Institute of Archaeology.

Chalcolithic

Li LIu

 Maureece Levin

Israel

Alcohol in Holy Land

Alcohol in ceramic strainers from the Chalcolithic Holy Land, Israel, collaborating with University of Haifa, Israel.

Bronze Age

Li Liu

Yahui He

Henan

Erlitou Project

Analysis of residues on drinking vessels unearthed from elite tombs at the Erlitou site, collaborating with Institute of Archaeology, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences.

​Late Neolithic

Suofei Feng

Li Liu

Jiajing Wang

Henan

Xipo Project

We examined micro-botanical and fungal residues of the vessels excavated from the Xipo site, collaborating with the Institute of Archaeology, CASS, and Henan Provincial Institute of Cultural Relics and Archaeology in Zhengzhou.

Ancient Egypt

 Jiajing Wang

Hierakpnplis

Egyptian Pots Project

We are currently conducting residue analysis on pottery from Hierakonpolis, one of the most important archaeological sites for understanding the foundations of ancient Egyptian society.

https://www.hierakonpolis-online.org

Classic Maya

Ran Chen

Yahui He

Li LIu

Honduras

Copan Project

foodways and feasting at the copan site in Honduras,

collaborating with Institute of Archaeology, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences.

Bronze Age

 Jingbo Li

Henan

Yinxu Project

Alcohol production and consumption at the Yinxu site in the Shang Dynasty and the Bronze Age drinking in early China. In collaboration with Institute of Archaeology, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences.

Publications

Liu, L., 2017. Zaoqi taoqi, zhuzhou, niangjiu yu shehui fuzahua de fazhan (Early pottery, porridge, and development of social complexity). Zhongyuan Wenwu 2, 24-34.

Liu, L., Li, Y., Hou, J., 2020a. Making beer with malted cereals and qu starter in the Neolithic Yangshao culture, China. Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports 29, 102134.

Liu, L., Wang, J., Chen, X., Li, Y., 2019a. Huanghe zhongyou xinshiqi shidai lujiu taohu fenxi (Analysis of Neolithic pottery strainers in the middle Yellow River valley). Zhongyuan Wenwu 6, 55-61.

Liu, L., Wang, J., Chen, X., Li, Y., Zhao, H., 2018a. Yangshao wenhua dafangzi yu yanyin chuantong: Henan Yanshi Huizui yizhi F1 dimian he taoqi canliuwu fenxi (Large houses and feasting tradition of the Yangshao Culture: Starch and phytolith analyses of the residues from pottery vessels and floors of House No.1 at Huizui in Yanshi, Henan). Zhongyuan Wenwu 1, 32- 43.

Liu, L., Wang, J., Levin, M.J., Sinnott-Armstrong, N., Zhao, H., Zhao, Y., Shao, J., Di, N., Zhang, T., 2019b. The origins of specialized pottery and diverse alcohol fermentation techniques in Early Neolithic China. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 116, 12767-12774.

Liu, L., Wang, J., Liu, H., 2020b. The brewing function of the first amphorae in the Neolithic Yangshao culture, North China. Journal of Anthropological and Archaeological Sciences 12, 118.

Liu, L., Wang, J., Zhao, H., Shao, J., Di, N., Feng, S., 2018b. Shaanxi Lantian Xinjie yizhi Yangshao wenhua wanqi taoqi canliuwu fenxi: niangzao guyajiu de xinzhengju (Residue analyses on pottery from the late Yangshao Culture site of Xinjie in Lantian, Shaanxi: New Evidence of beer brewing). Nongye Kaogu 1, 7-15.

Liu, L., Wang, J., Zhao, Y., Yang, L., 2017. Yangshao wenhua de guyajiu: jiemi Yangguanzhai yizhi de taoqi gongneng (Beer in the Yangshao Culture: decoding the function of pottery at the Yangguanzhai site). Nongye Kaogu 6, 26-32.

Wang, J., Liu, L., Ball, T., Yu, L., Li, Y., Xing, F., 2016. Revealing a 5,000-y-old beer recipe in China. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 113, 6444-6448.

About Us

We are a team of archaeologists discovering ancient food cultures around the world.

Drop By

488 Escondido Mall

Building 500

Stanford, CA 94305